Lusaka City

Lusaka is the capital city of Zambia. One of the fastest-developing cities in Southern Africa, Lusaka is located in the southern part of the central plateau at an elevation of about 1,279 metres (4,195 feet).

Lusaka has a population of about 2,600,000 people making it the biggest city in Zambia.

Lusaka City is comprised of all or part of several suburbs, all within close proximity to the central city area. Each suburb has a distinctive character with most being a mix of commercial and residential areas.

Suburbs / Townships

Suburbs around Lusaka include Makeni Konga, Handsworth Park, Sunningdale, Kabulonga, Meanwood (Ndeke Village), Woodlands, Jesmondine, Acacia, Northmead, Olympia Park, Chilanga, Roma, Kalundu, Chelston, Avondale, Rhodes Park, Prospect Hill, Longacres, Fairview, State Lodge, Makeni, Emmasdale, Leopards Hill, New Kasama, Ibex Hill, Kabwata (a working class area, home to the Kabwata Cultural Centre), Madras, Mass Media, Libala, Marshlands, Manda Hill, Chainda, Chudleigh, Kamwala, Kamwala South, Mwembeshi, Barlastone Park, Foxdale, Madras, NIPA, Mapepe, Lilayi, Presidential Housing Initiative (PHI) (originally named as the Bennie Mwiinga Housing Complex), Nyumba Yanga, Olympia Extension, Thorn Park, Twinpalm, Villa Elizabetha and newly created areas such Chalala which comprises Hill View area, Rock field and Bedrock which is also called woodlands chalala with prominent residents such as Kashiwa Bulaya living there.
Other residential areas are Misisi, Chawama, Ziwa Zakho, Kazionele, Izani Muone, Zingalume, Shang’ombo, Shadreck, Matero, Mtendere, Chaisa, Chawama, John Laing, Kalingalinga, George compound, Chipata Compound, Ng’ombe, Lilanda, Chunga, Mandevu, Garden Compound, Bauleni, and Helen Kaunda, Kaunda Square (stage one and stage two),

Central Business District
Lusaka is the capital city of Zambia. The central business district is predominantly commercial in land use and home to the head offices of some of the state’s major companies. A number of inner city residential options also exist throughout the central city area.

Lusaka Central Business is serviced by Four freeways, including: Cairo Road, Chachacha Road, Freedom Way and Lumumba Road.

Public transport includes taxis, a number of mini buses with four main bus stations as follows:
• Intercity Bus terminus
• Kulima Tower
• City Market Bus Station
• Flash Bust Station
• Lumumba Bus Station


  • 9
  • 1.8



One thought on “Lusaka City

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *